The Design of Software (CLOSED)

A public forum for discussing the design of software, from the user interface to the code architecture. Now closed.

The "Design of Software" discussion group has been merged with the main Joel on Software discussion group.

The archives will remain online indefinitely.

Tense to use in specification documents

What is the correct tense to use when writing a functional specification, for instance?

I find that the natural tendency is to use future tense, as in "the user interface will consist of two buttons...", because the user interface does not exist yet when writing the spec.

I am worried however that the spec will seem outdated when the progtram has actually been written but the spec is still being kept up to date.

I am new to spec writing as you can probably tell... :)
Riaan van den Dool Send private email
Wednesday, October 26, 2005

Present tense.

Read:
"The user interface consists of ..."
as
"The user interface I'm describing in this spec consists of..."

The interface alreay exists, just not in code.
  -tim
a2800276 Send private email

A requirements document will use something like the future imperfect.

The user should be able to .....
The programme will...

Whereas, as Tim says, the specification which is the answer to the Requirements document will be in the present tense, except when talking about sequences of actions and where you have to talk about previous steps in a process.
Simon Lucy Send private email

Some good references for spec writing:
Guide to Specification Writing For U.S. Government Engineers: <http://www.ntsc.navy.mil/Resources/Library/Acqguide/spec.htm>

SpecRight: <http://www.abm.rda.hq.navy.mil/aosfiles/tools/specright/>

Simon's correct, requirements use the future imperfect, though phrases like "should be able to" and "will" are right out ;)
Former COBOL Programmer

I think the future tense is more common. But its really not that important, as long as you are consistent.