The Design of Software (CLOSED)

A public forum for discussing the design of software, from the user interface to the code architecture. Now closed.

The "Design of Software" discussion group has been merged with the main Joel on Software discussion group.

The archives will remain online indefinitely.

Program to interfaces

I'm pretty new to Java, but have a lot of C experience. Java's interfaces look to me a great deal like C's header files. The function signatures seem redundant. Afterall the function signatures can be found in the implementation.

So why program to interfaces, not to implementation?
Tuesday, September 27, 2005
Because interfaces allow you to know only a little bit about a class instead of everything about a class. They allow you to use the same code to work with any class that implements the interface.
You can have multiple implementations of interfaces.

Java only allows you one implementation base class, but you can implement multiple interfaces.

If you have multiple orthogonal concepts in your program, you can represent each one as an interface, then implement them in whatever combination makes sense for your particular class.
Chris Tavares Send private email
Interfaces are polymorhic.
son of parnas
Sloop, if the class has everything but the interface methods private how does it hurt to program to program to the class?

I get the idea of working with any class that implements the interface, but in practice how often do you change out the underlying class?
In practice, you don't switch out the underlying class very often. So, if your currently using a class that doesn't implement any interfaces, I wouldn't worry too much about it.

But, when you're using classes that already have interfaces, it's better to write your code in such a way that it uses the interface name rather than the class name. So, writing something like this...

public List myMethodThatReturnsAList() {
} much better than this...