The Design of Software (CLOSED)

A public forum for discussing the design of software, from the user interface to the code architecture. Now closed.

The "Design of Software" discussion group has been merged with the main Joel on Software discussion group.

The archives will remain online indefinitely.

Does anyone really use the Unified Process?

I am a self taught amateur programmer (started in 1982) who is now doing a degree to formalise my knowledge and shed some bad habits, but I really cannot believe what I am being told about UML and the Unified Process.

I realise that there is a gap between academia and reality, but the whole rigmarole surrounding the Unified Process astounds me. In projects that I have done so far (I have written several small apps for small businesses and for employers, mostly using fairly simple SQL / VB / Java) I have used a "Top Level Tasks Spec" which describes to the customer what tasks they can expect the product to perform, followed by various levels of spec for my own usage breaking the tasks out into sub tasks which then form the basis of code tests. This might be a very naive way of working, but I've always found it very effective.

My question is, can anyone, with their hand on their heart and a straight face, say that they have developed an application using the whole Unified Modelling Mallarky, and written specs for customers in UML, complete with little stick men?
Paul Brown Send private email
Tuesday, September 27, 2005

Paul, it sounds like you have a nice, "Lite" process which works for both you and your customers.  Stay with it.

UML, and the Unified Process, are the latest attempts from Rational to get their tools adopted as the industry standard.  The problem is that UML came from joining three very different camps -- Booch, Jacobson, and Rumbaugh.  The resulting unholy mess will take years to settle out.