The Design of Software (CLOSED)

A public forum for discussing the design of software, from the user interface to the code architecture. Now closed.

The "Design of Software" discussion group has been merged with the main Joel on Software discussion group.

The archives will remain online indefinitely.

Never Fast Enough

So, I have this Java program that reads every byte of a 3GB file, calls a static method that maps the byte from its original form (EBCDIC) to something useful (ASCII) in a large 'switch', then writes it to a new file. It is disappointingly slow, 3-5 hours on a HPUX 9000 server.

I theorize it's because of the method call overhead (well, its being called 3 billion times for Pete's sake!), because the read/write operation itself only takes 5-10 minutes (and yes, it uses BufferedReader etc.).

I would like to speed this up, would inlining the method call significantly help? Any other bright ideas? In case its not obvious, I am NOT a Java expert, by the way.
NetFreak Send private email
Monday, September 26, 2005

Try using a lookup table and ditch the method call.
sloop

Just last week I wrote a C program that converts 200MB files it actually needs to parse (simple parsing, but significantly more than ebcdic->ascii). It uses mmap() for both in and out to speed things up.

Running on a Pentium 3 1.4Ghz, 512MB of Ram it takes ~20 secs for each 200MB file if the file is not cached and < 5 if it is (meaning, IO overhead is ~15 secs).

If you're forced to stay in Java, look at memory mapping primitives (I think they were introduced in JDK 1.4), they might help.

Other than that, find a unix station and type "man dd". It has a feature that converts ascii<->ebcdic; It will work quickly _and_ save you the coding time. Failing that, install cygwin's or gnuwin32's "dd" version, but they are both slow compared to any decent Unix I've used.
Ori Berger

I assume you have profiled the code to see where the time is being spent?