The Design of Software (CLOSED)

A public forum for discussing the design of software, from the user interface to the code architecture. Now closed.

The "Design of Software" discussion group has been merged with the main Joel on Software discussion group.

The archives will remain online indefinitely.

Dilemma ...

Hi...I have been thinking to ship a simple and lightweight desktop application and target OS would be windows for 1.0. I have experience in C under-linux. I don't want to use Java because i don't like it for no good reason :-). Couple of days back i started learning .NET. It seems like Okay kind of environment and now i feel comfortable with it. I have even downloaded some free UI-components and played with them. But here is the catch: If i would build this in .NET then either i will have to assume that customers will get .NET framework or i will end up with a huge exe. I have found Remotesoft Linker for around 500$ but i would like to spend this much money on Google Ad words.Now i am quite stumped as to what language to use to build my desktop application. I have couple of questions
i)- Can i make my UI in .NET and use it in VB 6.0( or in anyother language as in Delphi???) ? How would i do that ? Any web-pointers will be highly appreciated? I mean to say that can i build UI in .NET and write my business logic in either in VB 6.0 or Delphi( Any articles,help...???) ?I have also heard that MSFT has stopped( or thinking to stop, im not sure) providing support for VB 6.0
ii)-What about Delhpi or Ruby?
My main concerns are to come up with a light-weight and rich-UI application. As far as databases are concerned i might would go for MySQL, SQLite or VistaDB.  Any comments, thoughts or advices will be highly appreciated.
Confused!!! Send private email
Wednesday, September 21, 2005