The Design of Software (CLOSED)

A public forum for discussing the design of software, from the user interface to the code architecture. Now closed.

The "Design of Software" discussion group has been merged with the main Joel on Software discussion group.

The archives will remain online indefinitely.

I'm a Python Man

This week I finally decided to ditch Perl.

I had several prototype applications to build, to experiment with the effectiveness of a few new algorithms. Ordinary, I might write the first version of something like this in Perl. I've been using Perl for the last three years, and it's a great little language.

But I really dislike reading other people's perl code. And even my own Perl starts to look vague and confusing if I haven't looked at it for a few months.

And don't even get me started on Perl's object orientation.

Before deciding on Python, I took a look at Ruby, but I was turned off by its adoptioni of the Perl TMTOWTDI philosophy. And I was impressed by this Poem (found by typing 'import this' into the interactive Python interpreter):

"""
The Zen of Python, by Tim Peters

Beautiful is better than ugly.
Explicit is better than implicit.
Simple is better than complex.
Complex is better than complicated.
Flat is better than nested.
Sparse is better than dense.
Readability counts.
Special cases aren't special enough to break the rules.
Although practicality beats purity.
Errors should never pass silently.
Unless explicitly silenced.
In the face of ambiguity, refuse the temptation to guess.
There should be one-- and preferably only one --obvious way to do it.
Although that way may not be obvious at first unless you're Dutch.
Now is better than never.
Although never is often better than *right* now.
If the implementation is hard to explain, it's a bad idea.
If the implementation is easy to explain, it may be a good idea.
Namespaces are one honking great idea -- let's do more of those!
"""