The Design of Software (CLOSED)

A public forum for discussing the design of software, from the user interface to the code architecture. Now closed.

The "Design of Software" discussion group has been merged with the main Joel on Software discussion group.

The archives will remain online indefinitely.

compelling reasons for modular designs

I'm a statistician working at a new company. Statisticians are not really taught anything about software design, just syntax. Also, the most popular statistical software doesn't promote good design…

I've inherited a software project that is a bit of a mess, but is functional most of the time. It is in a semi-production environment (nothing having to do with clinical trials). The software is written in R, which is a great language and supports good software design (e.g. it has testing frameworks, good scoping, libraries and lots of other things that most java or python people take for granted). None of the team supporting it have ever worked in a commercial production environment and tend to use the bar of "it worked for me" for a lot of things.

The problem is that the code consists of a bunch of functions that are essentially long scripts with very wide scope. I'm convinced that it needs refactoring (mostly modularization and scope reduction), which would be pretty straightforward, but take up a good amount of time. I'm having a hard time coming up with a compelling reason that will convince them that it is a good thing to do proactively.

Does anyone have advice on convincing people who code a lot (but don't think about good design) *why* the extra time would be worth it? I've looked thru my editions of Code Complete (especially the chapters about modules and routines), but haven't gotten much on why it's a good idea sitting in their shoes ("It works right now, what will I get out of it?")

Thanks

Max
Max Send private email
Thursday, September 01, 2005