The Design of Software (CLOSED)

A public forum for discussing the design of software, from the user interface to the code architecture. Now closed.

The "Design of Software" discussion group has been merged with the main Joel on Software discussion group.

The archives will remain online indefinitely.

implementing all this talk of tags...

Between the recent posts on this forum about GMail labels, and the tag system in Flickr and (see links below), this system of tags/labels/social classification is recieving some new attention. 

Its great to see so much discussion on the topic.  But as a developer, I'm curious about the implementation details.  This has the possibility of becoming a new programming paradigm; instead of structuring complicated SQL queries, you could issue search queries against a group of terms.  Search and collaborative filtering seem to take center stage.

So how are systems of the future going to handle this?  Large text fields and search?  How is that going to scale?  What about tag normalization issues?

Some links:
monsur Send private email
Tuesday, September 07, 2004
Side-note: I wouldn't characterize tags as a new paradigm. I mean, you can think of them as predicates, witch falls within 1-order logic and is handled by prolog for many years (decades?) now.
Rafael de F. Ferreira Send private email
Wednesday, September 08, 2004
What goes around comes around, no?  Flickr applies tags to photos, GMail to email, and to links; but in theory they can be applied to all data.  In fact, that was/is one of the major points of WinFS' directory structure.

But look at 99% of popular applications out there and they are standard queries-against-the-database type apps.  To me, when data is retrieved via tags, this standard method of database access falls short.  So what are our options?  If prolog handles this, how does it do it, and how does it scale?