The Design of Software (CLOSED)

A public forum for discussing the design of software, from the user interface to the code architecture. Now closed.

The "Design of Software" discussion group has been merged with the main Joel on Software discussion group.

The archives will remain online indefinitely.

I'm currently trying to answer questions about whether it's a good idea for my company's product (a real-time OLTP framework) to support J2EE.  We currently support Java, but strictly as POJO's, via a web services interface.

I'm not a Java expert by any means, and even less of one in J2EE, but my impression is that the Java world has largely passed J2EE by. This because of:

1. difficulty in keeping up with the many different, and sometimes conflicting, specifications that make up J2EE;

2. extreme performance hit that results from the many layers of J2EE.

Number 2 is particularly relevant, as our product is geared towards real-time OLTP for industries like Wall St., telecoms, etc.

Can anyone confirm or refute the above?  What has been your experience with J2EE for building large, high-performance OLTP systems?

Many thanks in advance...
BillT Send private email
Tuesday, July 12, 2005
What do you mean by "support"? Do you mean that people can deploy J2EE applications into your product? Or merely that you can natively speak to the standard J2EE appservers? Perhaps you mean that your product could be deployed to a J2EE appserver?

As to your numbered points:
1. A lot of the specs probably don't apply to your situation. For example, I don't see why you would need to learn anything about the Servlet API. I don't really understand what you mean about conflicting specs - can you give an example?