The Design of Software (CLOSED)

A public forum for discussing the design of software, from the user interface to the code architecture. Now closed.

The "Design of Software" discussion group has been merged with the main Joel on Software discussion group.

The archives will remain online indefinitely.

IA and Data Elements

Are multi-dimensional arrays better than arrays of objects? From an IA perspective, it may be easier to think of things as objects and then diving in for whatever data is desired. From a programing perspective, are there any real advantages to using multi-dimensional arrays?
nonymous
Tuesday, June 07, 2005

Um, some context for your question would be nice. First off, which of the many expansions of the acronym IA do you mean? Second, what programming language(s)/environment(s)/application domain(s) are you talking about?
Exception guy Send private email
Tuesday, June 07, 2005

IA for Information Architecture, the discipline loosely speaking. My background is mainly in Java and C++. I ussually end up grouping data in objects, tossing them in a java collection and using a comparator if need be to get the results I want. It works but I wonder if multi-dimensional arrays might offer some speed or retrieval advantages in some situations.
nonymous
Tuesday, June 07, 2005

Without knowing your particular situation, the main advantage of using arrays over what you describe is less memory used, especially if working with primitive types.

Memory overhead aside, I would expect that access time and sort time on an ArrayList are comparable to using arrays, (assuming same data), with the Java array solution being slightly faster from ditching the object creation overhead, and the C++ array solution faster than that thanks to fewer CPU instructions.  The differences may be negligible on your data.  Also, the underlying platform will make for some differences.