The Design of Software (CLOSED)

A public forum for discussing the design of software, from the user interface to the code architecture. Now closed.

The "Design of Software" discussion group has been merged with the main Joel on Software discussion group.

The archives will remain online indefinitely.

Extending Windows Search Window

Hi guys,
I'm currently a student studying CS and as such, I don't get much (okay, any) experience writing Windows programs. But C# is my language of choice, and now I was wondering about how to extend something like Windows Explorer.

More specifically, how does one go about writing an app that simply modifies the Windows Search result pane (search for documents) based on what is searched for?

Does anyone have any beginner links to check out? I'm sure I'll pick it up really fast with a little catalyst.

Thanks!
Ian
Ian Sefferman Send private email
Tuesday, October 05, 2004

These days I'd use Google to search the web for terms such as msdn explorer search extend

I also find it useful to search the microsoft.public and/or microsoft.public.dotnet newsgroups.
Christopher Wells Send private email

Thank you, exactly what I needed. Even in your (what I believe to be) attempt at being sort of rude, you answered my question-- I was searching for things like "programming windows search," which if you check, doesn't return anything interesting.

Search engines aren't very good if you don't know the terms to search for.

Ian

PS - If you weren't trying to be rude, my apologies. I wasn't trying to be either.

> Thank you, exactly what I needed.

I'm glad to hear it; I checked those search terms very briefly before I posted them, and found that it seemed that they could be productive.

> Even in your (what I believe to be) attempt at being sort of rude