The Design of Software (CLOSED)

A public forum for discussing the design of software, from the user interface to the code architecture. Now closed.

The "Design of Software" discussion group has been merged with the main Joel on Software discussion group.

The archives will remain online indefinitely.

Java class versus C++ struct layout

I'm an experienced c++ programmer doing a java project for the first time.

I'm just wondering how an experienced Java programmer would setup/layout the following class/structrue (disregard any syntax errors - just looking for file layout issues):

I want to know is it better to include obvious C++ structs in separate Java .class files or to make them subclasses in the main.class file.

------

in C++:

class myProject {

struct {
    int i;
    int j;
  } myStuct[200];

}

------

In java:

Should I make two separate classes with separate .class files like

struct.class file:
class {
  int i;
  int j;
};

project.class file:
class {
  struct[] mystruct = new struct();
}

OR

project.class file:
class {

class {
    int i;
    int j;
  } struct;

struct[] mystruct = new struct();
}

Is it good design to have a separate .clas file for every single class in your project?

Is it just dependent on whether 1 OR more than 1 main classes need to use it?

Monday, October 04, 2004

In Java it's normally one class one file, I believe the compiler complains if you do not. The structure you are suggesting though is called an inner class or nested class and can be done but is usually considered harder to read but obviously if you want to do it you can. I myself would put then in separate files unless the inner one was super simple (which is usually when inner classes aren't minded as much).
Justin Kolb Send private email
Monday, October 04, 2004

public class MyClass {
}

must be stored in MyClass.java - this is a requirement. Non-public classes may be stored which ever way you want, but I would still put them in their own file.