The Design of Software (CLOSED)

A public forum for discussing the design of software, from the user interface to the code architecture. Now closed.

The "Design of Software" discussion group has been merged with the main Joel on Software discussion group.

The archives will remain online indefinitely.

Design of Software

I am still a junior level programmer for a pretty large UK based company. When I am to write our software, I get as much freedom as desired to develop the internal logic. However, the GUI interface, by which I mean the relevant pop-ups, click behaviors, positioning of graphics etc. is fully dictated by James, The Big Boss.

Usually The Big Boss simply tells me the overall 'plan' which I develop in code. The GUI specifics are only settled on a couple of weeks after I finish the basic code. And frequently these specifics end up vastly different from the original GUI plans, which causes a lot of coding difficulties and makes the code a huge mess.

My questions are as follows:
1) Should the overall GUI not be settled on before the code is started. At this point the programmer has full control as to how things should behave GUI-wise and can code relevant scenarios as they come along for the viewing of the boss. Ultimately certain things will not work as expected from a GUI point of view, but more or less everything should fall in place. Worked appropriately, at no point should the developer have to completely change huge chunks of code because of radical changes to the logic of the GUI.
2) Am I wrong to complain? Ultimately our code ends up a mess due to these GUI changes. Keep in mind that we use VC++ such that the GUI is largely written as code. Also keep in mind that many of the changes are to move a button from FormA to FormD, or to make FormC a child of FormB. In these cases the logic and the GUI are kind of linked, such that the changes cause a lot of breaking to the logic.