The Design of Software (CLOSED)

A public forum for discussing the design of software, from the user interface to the code architecture. Now closed.

The "Design of Software" discussion group has been merged with the main Joel on Software discussion group.

The archives will remain online indefinitely.

ActiveX/COM - Applets/Servlets - Flash/?  Rich Internet Apps

What is your experience?

I want to develop without using Session variables and create a rich experience.

I want something secure.

Also, my background is actually in C# Visual Studio.NET - I enjoy that kind of development environment.  I also like what I see in JSF. 

I'd really like to development something that can be run anywhere, however, I don't want to lose 2 years of my life learning about wx this and gtk that.

Documentation on par with MSDN is a plus.

I'm sure I'll get lots of opinions - and that is ok.

I see this stuff on XUL and also on Avalon - that is interesting, maybe that is the direction I should focus on.

I'm not so hot into flash, but would learn it if it solved this problem.
IDontKnow
Tuesday, April 12, 2005

Let me add  the idea of 'code behind' is why I use C#

I don't like spaghetti code
IDontKnow
Tuesday, April 12, 2005

ActiveX/COM is "ok" but then you're not writing a web application, you are writing a desktop application that runs in (and only in) Internet Explorer that is downloaded automatically from a remote site.  Probably it would be more straight forward to just avoid ActiveX and build a separately installable desktop client.

But since you want it to "run anywhere" then ActiveX is out.  XUL and Avalon are also both out for the same reason.  Also neither of those technologies is ready from primetime anyway so unless you want to be on the bleeding edge you're basically out of luck.