* The Business of Software

A former community discussing the business of software, from the smallest shareware operation to Microsoft. A part of Joel on Software.

We're closed, folks!

Links:

» Business of Software FAQ
» The Business of Software Conference (held every fall, usually in Boston)
» Forum guidelines (Please read before posting!)

Moderators:

Andy Brice
Successful Software

Doug Nebeker ("Doug")

Jonathan Matthews
Creator of DeepTrawl, CloudTrawl, and LeapDoc

Nicholas Hebb
BreezeTree Software

Bob Walsh
host, Startup Success Podcast author of The Web Startup Success Guide and Micro-ISV: From Vision To Reality

Patrick McKenzie
Bingo Card Creator

Should I get an MBA?

I have about 15 years experience as a jack of all trades techie.

Is there any value in getting an MBA for a techie in this day and age?
Mister Ed Send private email
Monday, November 09, 2015

Are you considering attending a prestigious business school or a local college ?

Do you consider your career path to be moving into management ?

Are you working for a company that cares about these things ?
koan Send private email

Someone told me this book is good:
https://sivers.org/book/PersonalMBA

Buy that and save yourself thousands of $$ (or even just read the summary).
Andy Brice Send private email

I'm totally with Andy here.

After Humanities and Gender Studies, MBA is the next most useless degree out there.

The only course that might have some real value from the whole MBA program is Accounting.

Just start whatever business you wanna start, and learn as you go.

The only case where you might really need an MBA degree is if you've got an almost guaranteed offer for a promotion that requires the degree.

In that case I'd calculate the cost of the degree including both the education fees and lost productivity hours, and the benefits I'd get as an increased salary and other company perks. Even getting a fake MBA degree would be an option I'd thoroughly consider.