* The Business of Software

A former community discussing the business of software, from the smallest shareware operation to Microsoft. A part of Joel on Software.

We're closed, folks!

» Business of Software FAQ
» The Business of Software Conference (held every fall, usually in Boston)
» Forum guidelines (Please read before posting!)

Andy Brice
Successful Software

Doug Nebeker ("Doug")

Jonathan Matthews
Creator of DeepTrawl, CloudTrawl, and LeapDoc

Nicholas Hebb
BreezeTree Software

Bob Walsh
host, Startup Success Podcast author of The Web Startup Success Guide and Micro-ISV: From Vision To Reality

Patrick McKenzie
Bingo Card Creator

New website needs your review and feedback

I am a freelance programmer and I just created a new website for my business.  I know most of you guys write software to sell and one day I hope to be there but for now it is just whatever software creation jobs I can get.

I would greatly appreciate your feedback on the website.  please note that I haven't yet added any SEO to it.

Thanks in advance,

Website - www. adsi-sc.com
TD Send private email
Tuesday, November 25, 2014

If you're a single programmer, don't hide it.

The site is so blatantly a cliché of stock images that it's actually funny - and not in a good way.

White text on a black background is proven the hardest to read. Just don't.

You have a dramatic case study - but won't give us details?

Rather than continue to point out negatives, let me just say this; there are no positives. There is absolutely nothing about this site that engages, informs or encourages the visitor. In fact it's worse than that, as it obscures and discourages.

That's the bad news.

The good news is that you have so, so much room for improvement!

No, I'm not saying you should go for a long-winded site like mine, as we are different types of freelancers. However you do need to remember what you're selling, and bottom line, that's you. You're selling you.