* The Business of Software

A former community discussing the business of software, from the smallest shareware operation to Microsoft. A part of Joel on Software.

We're closed, folks!

Links:

» Business of Software FAQ
» The Business of Software Conference (held every fall, usually in Boston)
» Forum guidelines (Please read before posting!)

Moderators:

Andy Brice
Successful Software

Doug Nebeker ("Doug")

Jonathan Matthews
Creator of DeepTrawl, CloudTrawl, and LeapDoc

Nicholas Hebb
BreezeTree Software

Bob Walsh
host, Startup Success Podcast author of The Web Startup Success Guide and Micro-ISV: From Vision To Reality

Patrick McKenzie
Bingo Card Creator

Best way to promote organizer software

Hi all, I am a shareware author in the market since 1999. I have a reasonable success in spanish markets, but not the same in english ones.

I would like to get ideas about how to promote organizer software.

Although MSD Organizer, my flag-ship program, sells quite well, Adwords is not viable because main keywords in this market are very expensive.

Have anyone good ideas about ways to collaborate with other shareware authors to promote our products?

Thanks for your suggestions.
MSD Soft Send private email
Wednesday, March 26, 2014

For others reading this, you should really go check out his web site for an interesting example of the "more is more" approach to an online presence for your software (and, in fact, for the software itself). No minimalism there.  Wow. In this case, it appears to be working.
Racky Send private email

"MSD Soft", I hardly know where to start regarding your site...

I will say this much, STOP offering "free updates for life". Instead offer free updates within major builds or if someone purchased within 3 months of an update. There's no need to advertise that; just have the policy there to avoid upsetting customers.