* The Business of Software

A former community discussing the business of software, from the smallest shareware operation to Microsoft. A part of Joel on Software.

We're closed, folks!

» Business of Software FAQ
» The Business of Software Conference (held every fall, usually in Boston)
» Forum guidelines (Please read before posting!)

Andy Brice
Successful Software

Doug Nebeker ("Doug")

Jonathan Matthews
Creator of DeepTrawl, CloudTrawl, and LeapDoc

Nicholas Hebb
BreezeTree Software

Bob Walsh
host, Startup Success Podcast author of The Web Startup Success Guide and Micro-ISV: From Vision To Reality

Patrick McKenzie
Bingo Card Creator

Partnership Terms Advice

I was a window application developer and had developed few sharewares that were earning bread for me, then the sales started going down from 2011 second quarter . Then after sometime in mid 2012 I tried hands into app development and started working on projects for a firm as a freelancer.
From last 6 months i am working on elance under my own account and getting good response from there also. Although i have some app ideas of my own and will be launching one app in mid march, but freelance has become a good source of income for now so i do not want to quit it for now.

Now there is one employer on elance to whom I gave my proposal  for a project is asking me to become his partner in this iPhone app project. The idea is good and also i am interested in partnership for the app. Ill be handling the coding part and he will be handling the marketing part and also its his idea.

The plan is to launch a iPhone app first and when the app becomes successful then going for android version also. The development cost for the iPhone app that i gave him is $2000, also he will be investing his time and around $1500 on the app marketing.