* The Business of Software

A former community discussing the business of software, from the smallest shareware operation to Microsoft. A part of Joel on Software.

We're closed, folks!

Links:

» Business of Software FAQ
» The Business of Software Conference (held every fall, usually in Boston)
» Forum guidelines (Please read before posting!)

Moderators:

Andy Brice
Successful Software

Doug Nebeker ("Doug")

Jonathan Matthews
Creator of DeepTrawl, CloudTrawl, and LeapDoc

Nicholas Hebb
BreezeTree Software

Bob Walsh
host, Startup Success Podcast author of The Web Startup Success Guide and Micro-ISV: From Vision To Reality

Patrick McKenzie
Bingo Card Creator

Maybe I'm just not cut out for this.....

Sorry, I would rather remain anon for this. If you must delete it, be my guest.  This post may be TLDR, but in the end I want to know if I should bother trying to start my own software company.

I'm a software developer but I feel like my career is winding down.  I have degrees in EE/CS(but old and worthless) I've been doing it for a long time - probably over 20 years (worked in software training for a few years). I'm 41, got my first computer at 12, wrote some Basic programs then, and got hooked.

I am currently working as a contractor doing pretty complex c#/C++ vs2013 ecosystem work and LinuxVM w/Java(eclipse)/ ruby (for scripting) for a princely sum of 31 bucks an hour  - in  a fortune 50 company too, in a medium sized east coast MSA.