* The Business of Software

A former community discussing the business of software, from the smallest shareware operation to Microsoft. A part of Joel on Software.

We're closed, folks!

Links:

» Business of Software FAQ
» The Business of Software Conference (held every fall, usually in Boston)
» Forum guidelines (Please read before posting!)

Moderators:

Andy Brice
Successful Software

Doug Nebeker ("Doug")

Jonathan Matthews
Creator of DeepTrawl, CloudTrawl, and LeapDoc

Nicholas Hebb
BreezeTree Software

Bob Walsh
host, Startup Success Podcast author of The Web Startup Success Guide and Micro-ISV: From Vision To Reality

Patrick McKenzie
Bingo Card Creator

Banner Ads/BuySellAds for generating Traffic/Income

What do you guys think about Banner Ads for your product?

I've tried it once before, the results were terrible. It was due to me being a complete noob and buying something that I thought was cheap.

This time, I am retrying it. I've spent about $300 on Banner Ads from BuySellAds. I'm getting a lot of impression but a very low CTR. I'll do some A/B testing and see if this could be a good way to generate traffic/sales.

I am currently using a nicely designed banner displaying my product and what it can do in 1 sentence. I didn't make it flashy, animated or anything, I think that'll make people NOT want to click it more. I will try it out though.

Have you tried it/ how was your experience?
John Senar Send private email
Saturday, November 23, 2013

As a general rule, when someone asks me for wording for banner ads I refuse.

Partly as it seems silly to charge enough for my time for a short, snappy sentence - but such a sentence could take a week to come up with.

The main reason though is that the ROI with banners is so low that I advise against them.

For SOME products and niches, when advertised on ideal sites with ideal readers, they can return positive ROI. Generally though, they're a waste of space for most people.