* The Business of Software

A former community discussing the business of software, from the smallest shareware operation to Microsoft. A part of Joel on Software.

We're closed, folks!

Links:

» Business of Software FAQ
» The Business of Software Conference (held every fall, usually in Boston)
» Forum guidelines (Please read before posting!)

Moderators:

Andy Brice
Successful Software

Doug Nebeker ("Doug")

Jonathan Matthews
Creator of DeepTrawl, CloudTrawl, and LeapDoc

Nicholas Hebb
BreezeTree Software

Bob Walsh
host, Startup Success Podcast author of The Web Startup Success Guide and Micro-ISV: From Vision To Reality

Patrick McKenzie
Bingo Card Creator

Having hard time looking for a job. Micro-ISV not helping.

Ever since I graduated from college last year, I’ve only worked at once place for 4 months. I quit since it was not really related to programming, but more of a system analyst type of job.

I quit that job and started my own Micro-ISV company. I’ve created over 20 different software and they are highly rated and reviewed upon. That’s what I’ve been doing the last year and a half.  I’ve only started selling 3 months ago and my I’ve been earning like $600 - $800 a month.

The thing is, I would like to look for a job now. To generate more income per month and keep the company running on the side. I have been looking for one but it’s going very badly.

Recruiting Agent look at my skills and be like “Wow, you’ve accomplished a lot.” But I never get hired. Their clients complain I don’t have enough experience and worst of all, they are not counting my company as a commercial/professional experience. It also sucks when they ask me what I’m currently making. I mean of course I am not making 60k a year, I’ve just started selling, and these things take a long time to grow.

Even though I may be perfectly suitable for a job and even though it seems easy, they’re implying that I don’t even meet the 1+ year experience of C#.