* The Business of Software

A former community discussing the business of software, from the smallest shareware operation to Microsoft. A part of Joel on Software.

We're closed, folks!

Links:

» Business of Software FAQ
» The Business of Software Conference (held every fall, usually in Boston)
» Forum guidelines (Please read before posting!)

Moderators:

Andy Brice
Successful Software

Doug Nebeker ("Doug")

Jonathan Matthews
Creator of DeepTrawl, CloudTrawl, and LeapDoc

Nicholas Hebb
BreezeTree Software

Bob Walsh
host, Startup Success Podcast author of The Web Startup Success Guide and Micro-ISV: From Vision To Reality

Patrick McKenzie
Bingo Card Creator

Seeking ideas for a B2B Product

Hey all,

I'm a programmer, mostly doing consulting work on a self employed basis. However, I'm dying to move away from that, and release my own product. The problem is, I really can't think of any product ideas for a B2B market.

I'm looking for something that will solve a real problem that businesses have. But I don't have enough domain knowledge about any business, except software development, to know which problems people want to have solved.

Can anyone give me any ideas?

I can create both a web and desktop based product.
IdeaSkeer Send private email
Tuesday, November 12, 2013

I'll throw out my pain point (which I think might be unsolvable, but... ?)

I need to be able to track downloads and match them up with sales.  "Easy!" you think.  But consider this all to common B2B scenario:

Boss tells employee to find a solution for problem X.
Employee searches and finds your website.  Downloads and tries your app.  Cookies probably deposited in browser
Employee recommends app.
Employee, or boss, or Ops team, downloads again to install in test or production computers.
Employee, or boss, or purchasing department either orders online, OR sends a purchase order via email.