* The Business of Software

A former community discussing the business of software, from the smallest shareware operation to Microsoft. A part of Joel on Software.

We're closed, folks!

Links:

» Business of Software FAQ
» The Business of Software Conference (held every fall, usually in Boston)
» Forum guidelines (Please read before posting!)

Moderators:

Andy Brice
Successful Software

Doug Nebeker ("Doug")

Jonathan Matthews
Creator of DeepTrawl, CloudTrawl, and LeapDoc

Nicholas Hebb
BreezeTree Software

Bob Walsh
host, Startup Success Podcast author of The Web Startup Success Guide and Micro-ISV: From Vision To Reality

Patrick McKenzie
Bingo Card Creator

Stripe is live in the UK

A lot of people seem to have good things to say about Stripe.
I have no experience of it, as it was not available in the UK,

It seems that has changed :-) 

https://stripe.com/blog/introducing-stripe-uk
GreenBean Send private email
Friday, August 16, 2013

I've been part the UK beta for the past few months, and it's been great :)

*Much* lower fees than FastSpring, and it was *much* easier and faster to get started with too.

Support is a bit slow (generally takes 2-3 days), but that is my only complaint.

Multi-currency support was on my wishlist - and that has now been granted, so I can accept GBP, USD and EUR payments without needing a seperate account for each. I'm still waiting on confirmation about whether they take a commission for the conversion though.

I'm still using FastSpring for EUR and USD payments, but plan to ditch it for Stripe ASAP!
Cocowalla Send private email
Friday, August 16, 2013

> I'm still waiting on confirmation about whether they take a commission for the conversion though

Forget that, they've updated their pricing page to make it clear:

https://stripe.com/gb/help/pricing

So they take 2%, which seems good to me.