* The Business of Software

A former community discussing the business of software, from the smallest shareware operation to Microsoft. A part of Joel on Software.

We're closed, folks!

Links:

» Business of Software FAQ
» The Business of Software Conference (held every fall, usually in Boston)
» Forum guidelines (Please read before posting!)

Moderators:

Andy Brice
Successful Software

Doug Nebeker ("Doug")

Jonathan Matthews
Creator of DeepTrawl, CloudTrawl, and LeapDoc

Nicholas Hebb
BreezeTree Software

Bob Walsh
host, Startup Success Podcast author of The Web Startup Success Guide and Micro-ISV: From Vision To Reality

Patrick McKenzie
Bingo Card Creator

Where to find partners?

I've got an application I've been developing and marketing for over 10 years which sells fairly steadily but I feel it's not reaching its full potential. 

What I'd like to do is find partners who believe in the product's potential and would be willing to get involved in return for a stake in the business - one in marketing and the other a techie to bounce ideas off and generally argue with ;) 

I know that partnership's are risky (particularly when you don't previously know the person) but I feel I need to motivation of people with a stake in the business to bounce ideas off.  People to share the highs (e.g. when an Aussie magazine featured my software and I made $5,000 in sales off the back of it) which friends and family don't really "get". 

Question is, where could I find such people?  I thought about Linked-In but perhaps it's too "corporate" for what I'm looking for? 

I tried a startups site but no response (possibly I didn't word it very well - this is why I need a marketing director ;)

I thought about putting an advert on my website (2,500 unique visitors a month) but not sure if that's like a restaurant advertising for a chef! 

Anyone got any ideas?  Any horror stories about partnerships gone wrong? ;)
John W King Send private email
Thursday, May 09, 2013