* The Business of Software

A former community discussing the business of software, from the smallest shareware operation to Microsoft. A part of Joel on Software.

We're closed, folks!

Links:

» Business of Software FAQ
» The Business of Software Conference (held every fall, usually in Boston)
» Forum guidelines (Please read before posting!)

Moderators:

Andy Brice
Successful Software

Doug Nebeker ("Doug")

Jonathan Matthews
Creator of DeepTrawl, CloudTrawl, and LeapDoc

Nicholas Hebb
BreezeTree Software

Bob Walsh
host, Startup Success Podcast author of The Web Startup Success Guide and Micro-ISV: From Vision To Reality

Patrick McKenzie
Bingo Card Creator

Is it easy to find a job for a software engineer in U.S.A?

I'm near 41, and I have 13 years software developing experience. Could anyone tell if it is easy to get a job in U.S.A after I get a green card?

Best Regards

Leo
leo sommor Send private email
Sunday, April 07, 2013

Generally, you should not have too hard a time finding a job here.
cn Send private email
Sunday, April 07, 2013

The trouble for newcomers is usually a lack of local references. Not every HR is ready to take a risk and hire someone nobody local can vouch for. After you've got your first job, even if a temp/contract, the rest is pretty easy.

If your native country's customs are different from USA, you should adjust your manners (as I had to do). Learn how people communicate and how they behave during the interview. What is expected and what's not. What kind of jokes are appropriate. How to refer to potentially unfavourable events in your past. How to structure your emails.
Vladimir Dyuzhev Send private email
Tuesday, April 09, 2013

Although I am a native citizen of the US, I have 12 year of software development experience.  Getting that first job was tough, as the previous person mentioned, it's tough getting references to vouch for you.