* The Business of Software

A former community discussing the business of software, from the smallest shareware operation to Microsoft. A part of Joel on Software.

We're closed, folks!

Links:

» Business of Software FAQ
» The Business of Software Conference (held every fall, usually in Boston)
» Forum guidelines (Please read before posting!)

Moderators:

Andy Brice
Successful Software

Doug Nebeker ("Doug")

Jonathan Matthews
Creator of DeepTrawl, CloudTrawl, and LeapDoc

Nicholas Hebb
BreezeTree Software

Bob Walsh
host, Startup Success Podcast author of The Web Startup Success Guide and Micro-ISV: From Vision To Reality

Patrick McKenzie
Bingo Card Creator

Share your success stories

Dear all,
First time poster but long term lurker here!  I love reading the posts on this forum and devouring all of your precious experience and advice.  I'm primarily a developer and thought all it would take was a great idea and the time and effort to write it.  After that, I could book my holidays and fly off into the sunset.  Now I know it takes a bit more than that.
I'm hoping to release a product next month and even after chopping my feature list down to the bare minimum I am somehow exhausted by the ton of work I have left to do.  So, for motivational purposes, how about you share your success stories here?  Tell us how long you have been at this, how many products you are selling, how you're doing now in general, and, (if not too confidential) what are your plans for the future?
DanDan Send private email
Friday, March 15, 2013

Probably I'm not that good at writing motivations texts, so I'll just share my experience...

10 years in business. Selling 3 products. I like it and it's still a fun thing to do! Communicating with people all around the world is  great - that's why I still do all the customer support and forum talking myself. Knowing that your software is useful for people is a great thing too.