* The Business of Software

A former community discussing the business of software, from the smallest shareware operation to Microsoft. A part of Joel on Software.

We're closed, folks!

» Business of Software FAQ
» The Business of Software Conference (held every fall, usually in Boston)
» Forum guidelines (Please read before posting!)

Andy Brice
Successful Software

Doug Nebeker ("Doug")

Jonathan Matthews
Creator of DeepTrawl, CloudTrawl, and LeapDoc

Nicholas Hebb
BreezeTree Software

Bob Walsh
host, Startup Success Podcast author of The Web Startup Success Guide and Micro-ISV: From Vision To Reality

Patrick McKenzie
Bingo Card Creator

Why I Am Going To Spend Less On Google Adwords From Now On

Five years ago I was lucky. In a certain area all the software products were written by people with knowledge of finance, but really had very poor software skills. All the products were quite frankly crap.

I came along. I had little knowledge of finance, but I was a hard core software developer with decades of experience of writing difficult code and never giving up.

I did research. I did experimentation. I found new ways to do things efficiently. I totally killed the competition with my software product. People loved my software product.

I am not saying I'm smart. I was lucky and lucky to be a competent software developer in a niche occupied by poor quality ones.

I ended up coming third in the natural Google search rankings on the first page. This lasted for years.

Enough money rolled in every month. I gave Google 5 - 10% of my monthly income. Perhaps this was a mistake as I had high natural search rankings and was paying for people to click on an advert even when I was at the top anyway.

I must have given Google Adwords a small fortune over 5 years. But I didn't care much. Maybe that means I'm a poor businessman. I reckoned Google deserved it as most of my traffic was due to them anyway.