* The Business of Software

A former community discussing the business of software, from the smallest shareware operation to Microsoft. A part of Joel on Software.

We're closed, folks!

Links:

» Business of Software FAQ
» The Business of Software Conference (held every fall, usually in Boston)
» Forum guidelines (Please read before posting!)

Moderators:

Andy Brice
Successful Software

Doug Nebeker ("Doug")

Jonathan Matthews
Creator of DeepTrawl, CloudTrawl, and LeapDoc

Nicholas Hebb
BreezeTree Software

Bob Walsh
host, Startup Success Podcast author of The Web Startup Success Guide and Micro-ISV: From Vision To Reality

Patrick McKenzie
Bingo Card Creator

I'm a PRO!

3 weeks in to the launch, and I finally sold my first copy! Its been an interesting exercise for a total marketing newbie - 2 1/2 weeks of getting no traction at all through wasted money on adwords and banners - I ended up striking a deal with the owner of a forum that is very focused on my niche, with a few thousand users. I am renting a sub-forum space and putting up some editorial etc - and now the spinning wheels seem finally to be gripping a bit of dirt!
Fingers crossed it's onwards and upwards from here..

on a related note - I am now experiencing my first support requests (trial users, not the purchaser).

so..

"I tried to download your app using Download Accelerator Program and it didn't work"
"I'm not familiar with that application, could you try downloading it without using it, and see how that goes?"
"that worked fine thanks"

is this the level of questions I can expect??
or is it going to get worse? :)

thanks,
Matt
Matthew Fender Send private email
Monday, February 18, 2013

Congratulations! Great going in just 3 weeks.

With so many years and customers I still see myself learning all the time.