* The Business of Software

A former community discussing the business of software, from the smallest shareware operation to Microsoft. A part of Joel on Software.

We're closed, folks!

Links:

» Business of Software FAQ
» The Business of Software Conference (held every fall, usually in Boston)
» Forum guidelines (Please read before posting!)

Moderators:

Andy Brice
Successful Software

Doug Nebeker ("Doug")

Jonathan Matthews
Creator of DeepTrawl, CloudTrawl, and LeapDoc

Nicholas Hebb
BreezeTree Software

Bob Walsh
host, Startup Success Podcast author of The Web Startup Success Guide and Micro-ISV: From Vision To Reality

Patrick McKenzie
Bingo Card Creator

Modern Windows Desktop Development

Hi,

I've been a professional indie developer on the Mac for close to twenty years now and for the past decade I had a now ex-colleague write the Windows ports of some of my products.

My windows guy no longer has the time or motivation to continue and I'm investigating where I'm going to go with the Windows ports now..

All the ports are written in circa 2001 Visual C++, so I'm split between finding someone to maintain the existing code base and to use this as an opportunity to re-develop the whole thing using newer technology.

I haven't used Windows in any form since 2006 and back then it was clear that .NET and C# were the future but that the future was not quite there yet..

Now 5 years later, does it finally make sense to develop using C# and the WPF? or would you stick with Visual C++ anyway?

Best regards,

Frank
Frank Reiff Send private email
Tuesday, September 27, 2011

It is matter of choice.

Visual C++ is still shipped with Visual Studio and you can develop modern applications using VC++.

You need to upgrade yourself for latest changes though.
Manoj Shinde Send private email

C++ on Windows isn't going anywhere. Microsoft have been pushing C# hard, but the Windows development team at Microsoft hasn't bought in and are still using C++.