* The Business of Software

A community discussing the business of software, from the smallest shareware operation to Microsoft. A part of Joel on Software.

This community works best when people use their real names. Please register for a free account.

Links:

» Business of Software FAQ
» The Business of Software Conference (held every fall, usually in Boston)
» Forum guidelines (Please read before posting!)

Moderators:

Andy Brice
Successful Software

Doug Nebeker ("Doug")

Jonathan Matthews
Creator of DeepTrawl, CloudTrawl, and LeapDoc

Nicholas Hebb
BreezeTree Software

Bob Walsh
host, Startup Success Podcast author of The Web Startup Success Guide and Micro-ISV: From Vision To Reality

Patrick McKenzie
Bingo Card Creator

Joel's new big idea

http://www.joelonsoftware.com/items/2010/02/11.html

It is amazing to me that it took Joel so long to realize that sales & marketing are an important part of a software business.

I'm no expert .. I run a small, growing, "lean" company, but I have always put a lot of my effort (and investment) into sales, marketing, and PR.

This idea that code quality does not matter if you can't sell it has been going around this forum for the three or so years since I found it. Maybe Joel needs to frequent his own forum!

Well, anyway, as seems painfully obvious to me: it doesn't matter what you do with your software business (or any other business) if no one knows about it / doesn't look good / or doesn't make sense from a marketing perspective.
SimonH Send private email
Friday, February 12, 2010

Sales and marketing is really, really hard.
Bring back anon Send private email

All these years I believed that a company who sells software to be successful, their product must be written in top notch code.

I've been SO wrong.