* The Business of Software

A former community discussing the business of software, from the smallest shareware operation to Microsoft. A part of Joel on Software.

We're closed, folks!

Links:

» Business of Software FAQ
» The Business of Software Conference (held every fall, usually in Boston)
» Forum guidelines (Please read before posting!)

Moderators:

Andy Brice
Successful Software

Doug Nebeker ("Doug")

Jonathan Matthews
Creator of DeepTrawl, CloudTrawl, and LeapDoc

Nicholas Hebb
BreezeTree Software

Bob Walsh
host, Startup Success Podcast author of The Web Startup Success Guide and Micro-ISV: From Vision To Reality

Patrick McKenzie
Bingo Card Creator

Is there a market for scripts?

I am not a programmer, but a sys admin. Over the years, I have written / (got someone else to write) several useful scripts to monitor my servers and intranet web sites.

I think many of these (ot atleast some of these) scripts can be useful for small businesses / programmers etc.

Is there a market for "scripts"? Do people pay for scripts?
veteran sysadmin
Thursday, August 28, 2008

Can they be run without alteration on other systems.  If the user needs to edit them, then I'd say not.

There is definitely a market for monitoring software -- there are also free alternatives.  You have to think about why your product is better/different from those.  Is there a specific market that it's specifically useful for?

For something like this -- I think trying to make your scripts perfect for a specific application might help you get noticed -- for example -- is there a way to integrate it into the UI of the software that it monitors?  Then I wouldn't think of it as a script, but instead, as an add-on.
Lou Send private email

probably not. the kind of people who would buy them tend to be able to write them themselves and would because they probably wouldn't be able to okay the budget to buy them.