* The Business of Software

A former community discussing the business of software, from the smallest shareware operation to Microsoft. A part of Joel on Software.

We're closed, folks!

Links:

» Business of Software FAQ
» The Business of Software Conference (held every fall, usually in Boston)
» Forum guidelines (Please read before posting!)

Moderators:

Andy Brice
Successful Software

Doug Nebeker ("Doug")

Jonathan Matthews
Creator of DeepTrawl, CloudTrawl, and LeapDoc

Nicholas Hebb
BreezeTree Software

Bob Walsh
host, Startup Success Podcast author of The Web Startup Success Guide and Micro-ISV: From Vision To Reality

Patrick McKenzie
Bingo Card Creator

I should have trusted my gut instinct

A few months ago Alentus, the company I've been using for 4 years to host first safarisoftware and 47hats.com had a major email outage. My gut said then, "These guys are getting flaky - time to bail." But inertia, too many other things to do and residual good will got in the way.

Today I'm paying the price. 47hats.com is down. So is safarisoftware, so is Alentus.com. No email, ftp, nothing.

An hour into this outage I called Alentus. I figured that by then, they'd realized they'd crashed. Nope. Just their "you've reached us after hours - email us" vm.

So here's the lesson I ignored and now get taught with a bigger stick: when you get uneasy about a vendor - especially an Internet Vendor - trust your gut.

When (it had better not be if) Alentus comes back I'm gone as fast as possible. Any personal recommendations for 1) reliable linux hosting with good support for Wordpress and 2) a host for rails app will be +++hugely appreciated+++.
Bob Walsh Send private email
Saturday, August 16, 2008

TownDrunk

1) http://www.futurequest.net