* The Business of Software

A former community discussing the business of software, from the smallest shareware operation to Microsoft. A part of Joel on Software.

We're closed, folks!

Links:

» Business of Software FAQ
» The Business of Software Conference (held every fall, usually in Boston)
» Forum guidelines (Please read before posting!)

Moderators:

Andy Brice
Successful Software

Doug Nebeker ("Doug")

Jonathan Matthews
Creator of DeepTrawl, CloudTrawl, and LeapDoc

Nicholas Hebb
BreezeTree Software

Bob Walsh
host, Startup Success Podcast author of The Web Startup Success Guide and Micro-ISV: From Vision To Reality

Patrick McKenzie
Bingo Card Creator

Biz Software or Games

I've been starting projects off and on now for a few years and most of them have been business software applications that I think would be great but really just have one or two new twists features that would be better than the competition.  So although I'd get excited initially the enthusiasm wears down rapidly after I question the market acceptance of the product.

I've started writing a requirements and issue tracking program modeled after some development processes at my previous and current jobs.  I have a few new ideas/features that would make the current ad-hoc apps we use better, and it would be integrated vs. the disaparate kludgy system we have now duct taped together.  But as I mentioned the excitement is wearing thin and as a result so is my productivity, as I question myself in entering this competitive commodity niche market.  Seems like requirements and issue tracking software are a dime a dozen with tons of open source competition as well.