* The Business of Software

A former community discussing the business of software, from the smallest shareware operation to Microsoft. A part of Joel on Software.

We're closed, folks!

Links:

» Business of Software FAQ
» The Business of Software Conference (held every fall, usually in Boston)
» Forum guidelines (Please read before posting!)

Moderators:

Andy Brice
Successful Software

Doug Nebeker ("Doug")

Jonathan Matthews
Creator of DeepTrawl, CloudTrawl, and LeapDoc

Nicholas Hebb
BreezeTree Software

Bob Walsh
host, Startup Success Podcast author of The Web Startup Success Guide and Micro-ISV: From Vision To Reality

Patrick McKenzie
Bingo Card Creator

Should I report paypal income with taxes?

I've earned around $7000 over the last year through casual programing jobs. The clients paid me through paypal and transferred the amount to my bank account. I'm a student and don't have a 'regular' job. Its time to lodge my tax returns so I'm wondering if I should tell them about the income that I earned via paypal?

P.S I'm in Australia and all of this amount is from clients from USA and Canada.

Thanks.
Aussie Student developer
Thursday, August 07, 2008

Yes. It's not just a good idea to follow the law and pay your dues. There might also be some cooperation between your government and the foreign ones or Paypal.

Besides, if the australian tax system is anything like those I know, you won't pay any taxes on $7000 anyway. You might also be able to deduct expenses for business and education.
Matt Winkelmann Send private email

Legally, you'll need to report it. Given that the .au tax-free-threshold is $6000, you probably won't end up paying much. You can deduct your computers, Internet access and so on anyway.

(IANAC, of course).
Ian Howson Send private email