* The Business of Software

A former community discussing the business of software, from the smallest shareware operation to Microsoft. A part of Joel on Software.

We're closed, folks!

Links:

» Business of Software FAQ
» The Business of Software Conference (held every fall, usually in Boston)
» Forum guidelines (Please read before posting!)

Moderators:

Andy Brice
Successful Software

Doug Nebeker ("Doug")

Jonathan Matthews
Creator of DeepTrawl, CloudTrawl, and LeapDoc

Nicholas Hebb
BreezeTree Software

Bob Walsh
host, Startup Success Podcast author of The Web Startup Success Guide and Micro-ISV: From Vision To Reality

Patrick McKenzie
Bingo Card Creator

Does anyone use shared hosting for their uISV?

I was just wondering for setting up blogs and your business website (for sales, etc.), does anyone here use shared hosting for this?

All that I have read says that VPS or dedicated is the way to go ... but the problem for me is that I am a Linux novice (Windows guy through and through) and good Windows VPS providers, from what I have seen, are just darn expensive (maybe I am wrong). And, I am not sure I want to spend the time learning Linux instead of concentrating on my uISV, blogging, etc. Maybe that is what I have to do though.

Just wanted to get some real world info here.

Thank you.
StartingUp
Monday, June 02, 2008

I am still on a shared hosting provider (futurequest.net) - for my linux commercial site.  I've used it to build the business to 550K/year gross and just now outgrew it - building my new site now on a dedicated server from crystaltech.com.

This is for a desktop SW app, ecommerce site, authorize.net back end with my custom cart scripted into the authorize.net api.
anon_for_this_one
Monday, June 02, 2008

I went VPS and never looked back.

It's faster for me.

Note: I already knew most of how to admin a Windows server.
Steve Send private email
Monday, June 02, 2008