* The Business of Software

A community discussing the business of software, from the smallest shareware operation to Microsoft. A part of Joel on Software.

This community works best when people use their real names. Please register for a free account.

Links:

» Business of Software FAQ
» The Business of Software Conference (held every fall, usually in Boston)
» Forum guidelines (Please read before posting!)

Moderators:

Andy Brice
Successful Software

Doug Nebeker ("Doug")

Jonathan Matthews
Creator of DeepTrawl, CloudTrawl, and LeapDoc

Nicholas Hebb
BreezeTree Software

Bob Walsh
host, Startup Success Podcast author of The Web Startup Success Guide and Micro-ISV: From Vision To Reality

Patrick McKenzie
Bingo Card Creator

Best way to implement software registration

What is the best way to setup software registration for my new product? I'm selling to large companies if this helps, this is my first product and I'm new to registration schemes. There seems little on the web so I'd appreciate any help /advice you can offer.

Thanks
James T
Friday, February 15, 2008

Do you really need this?

If you are selling to large companies, I would suggest that you don't need anything like this and it'll just get in the way and potentially annoy them.

Of course, ymmv.
Odysseus Send private email

Odysseus,

Yes he really does need something, piracy does exist in businesses and if he doesn't protect his software he will loose most of his revenue (I have tested this for a B2B product).
Tony Edgecombe Send private email

For my source code documentor products, I made a trial version for download which has limited reporting options.

The full version the customer gets by going to my site and entering their registration code.

RegNow sends the customer their registration code in an email. Periodically, I upload new registration codes to RegNow (I built a little app to make new ones).