* The Business of Software

A former community discussing the business of software, from the smallest shareware operation to Microsoft. A part of Joel on Software.

We're closed, folks!

Links:

» Business of Software FAQ
» The Business of Software Conference (held every fall, usually in Boston)
» Forum guidelines (Please read before posting!)

Moderators:

Andy Brice
Successful Software

Doug Nebeker ("Doug")

Jonathan Matthews
Creator of DeepTrawl, CloudTrawl, and LeapDoc

Nicholas Hebb
BreezeTree Software

Bob Walsh
host, Startup Success Podcast author of The Web Startup Success Guide and Micro-ISV: From Vision To Reality

Patrick McKenzie
Bingo Card Creator

Good books/articles about SEM/SEO

Hi guys,

I am looking for good books or articles about SEM/SEO. Which ones would you recommend? I am a beginner. Where is a good place to start?

Thank you in advance
The apprentice
Thursday, January 10, 2008

http://www.seobook.com/

nuff said.

No, seriously, it's an awesome resource. The firefox extension is interesting too.
Tim Haughton Send private email

Jon Chase Send private email

@ Tim , Jon
That seobook is last updated 3-4 years ago,many things changed in the world since
no name

The demo version of iBusinessPromoter includes a comprehensive up-to-date starter eBook on search engine optimization (PDF).

http://www.ibusinesspromoter.com
iBusinessPromoter Send private email

@no name
The SEO Book, which I purchased a week ago, was last updated on Tuesday, November 13, 2007.

If you register with the authors website you'll get unlimited updates to the book.

Regards -
Marcus not from Melbourne

@ Marcus not from Melbourne
Can you explain why you decided to pay for such an book when internet is loaded with free SEO tips/tricks?
Is that book really so good and worth money?
atza

I'm not Marcus, but I'd say that it comes down to how much you value your time.  There's a lot of useful SEO stuff on the web, but you have to sort through an awful lot of junk to find it.