* The Business of Software

A former community discussing the business of software, from the smallest shareware operation to Microsoft. A part of Joel on Software.

We're closed, folks!

Links:

» Business of Software FAQ
» The Business of Software Conference (held every fall, usually in Boston)
» Forum guidelines (Please read before posting!)

Moderators:

Andy Brice
Successful Software

Doug Nebeker ("Doug")

Jonathan Matthews
Creator of DeepTrawl, CloudTrawl, and LeapDoc

Nicholas Hebb
BreezeTree Software

Bob Walsh
host, Startup Success Podcast author of The Web Startup Success Guide and Micro-ISV: From Vision To Reality

Patrick McKenzie
Bingo Card Creator

porting from Windows to Mac

I'm a Windows developer, I don't know much about Mac. However, I'm thinking it might be a good idea to extend my market share by offering a Mac version of my Windows software.

Anyone's done that before? Care to share?

In particular I'm interested in how difficult would it be to translate a C++ application that uses MFC for GUI (althought there's a nice separation there and I can easily remove the MFC).
I would also like to know if it's possible to run MacOS in VMWare and if it's a good idea to do it like that.

I'm not 100% committed to the idea, I'm still trying to do a cost analysis, as you can see.

I hope some great souls here will excuse my ignorance when it comes to Mac and will provide some useful help, even if it's in the form of redirecting me to useful URLs.
Mike S
Friday, May 11, 2007

If you don't have a good reason to think your app will perform extremely well on Macs (very few competition and good demand) don't do it.

C++ and MFC are definitely not the ideal candidates to port. The port is always not trivial, even if the app is in Java you would still need to put some effort in it. And how do you support a platform you don't know well?!?