* The Business of Software

A former community discussing the business of software, from the smallest shareware operation to Microsoft. A part of Joel on Software.

We're closed, folks!

Links:

» Business of Software FAQ
» The Business of Software Conference (held every fall, usually in Boston)
» Forum guidelines (Please read before posting!)

Moderators:

Andy Brice
Successful Software

Doug Nebeker ("Doug")

Jonathan Matthews
Creator of DeepTrawl, CloudTrawl, and LeapDoc

Nicholas Hebb
BreezeTree Software

Bob Walsh
host, Startup Success Podcast author of The Web Startup Success Guide and Micro-ISV: From Vision To Reality

Patrick McKenzie
Bingo Card Creator

Books on microeconomics

In Strategy Letter V ( http://www.joelonsoftware.com/articles/StrategyLetterV.html ) Joel writes about microeconomics and how demand for your product will go up when the price of complements go down. That makes sense, but it was news to me.

Like probably most readers I am a programmer who knows all about programming languages and algorithms. But I know basically nothing about economics.

Can anyone recommend books that will allow me to fix that? I guess a college-level introductory textbook is what I am looking for.
Søren Sandmann Send private email
Friday, September 03, 2004

I have found David Friedman's "Hidden order" to be a nice introduction to economics.
Helge A. Gudmundsen Send private email

The market for undergraduate texts on microeconomics is very competitive; every year the major publishers re-release their books with a few trivial changes and all the page numbers messed up (so that students have to buy new copies; they can't buy used copies from an older student)...

Anyway the net result is that last year's microecon textbooks are always available for cheap at bookstores near colleges, which is where I would look. When purchasing textbooks I like to go to a university bookstore and see which ones the professors have chosen.
Joel Spolsky Send private email