* The Business of Software

A former community discussing the business of software, from the smallest shareware operation to Microsoft. A part of Joel on Software.

We're closed, folks!

Links:

» Business of Software FAQ
» The Business of Software Conference (held every fall, usually in Boston)
» Forum guidelines (Please read before posting!)

Moderators:

Andy Brice
Successful Software

Doug Nebeker ("Doug")

Jonathan Matthews
Creator of DeepTrawl, CloudTrawl, and LeapDoc

Nicholas Hebb
BreezeTree Software

Bob Walsh
host, Startup Success Podcast author of The Web Startup Success Guide and Micro-ISV: From Vision To Reality

Patrick McKenzie
Bingo Card Creator

Adwords conversion rate

I am new to Google adwords and signed up about a month ago. Until this date I received 53 clicks but no sale yet. I was wondering what the average conversion was, when do I start  pointing the problem back to my site or product and make changes to feature set, sales copy etc?

Thanks,
Erhard
Erhard Smit Send private email
Tuesday, June 13, 2006

Ben Mc Send private email
Tuesday, June 13, 2006

You've provided one data point out of many, making it difficult to provide you with any meaningful feedback.

53 clicks seems really low for one month. How many impressions are you getting in a month? What's your CTR? Are you targetting all the right search terms? What % have downloaded the trial? How does this compare to non-AdWords traffic?

There are so many other questions that can be asked. Read Dharmesh Shah's article on the subject:
http://onstartups.com/Home/tabid/3339/articleType/ArticleView/articleId/648/StartupsWhyYourSoftwareIsNotSelling.aspx
Nick Hebb Send private email
Tuesday, June 13, 2006

Dang. We're becoming an inbred community - all linking to the same stuff. :-)
Tuesday, June 13, 2006